1. Lee Kuan Yew – 1990

[“There is nothing to forbid anybody from nailing his colours to the mast,.. defend it and say,”This is my flag, this is what I believe in. I believe in open debate… I hope to win by votes.”

But start manipulating innocent professional groups, cultural groups and make them support political causes, ….then I say you are looking for unpleasant linkages with what has happened in the past.”]


2. Lee Kuan Yew on one freak election result ruining Sgp (ST, 26/4/08)

“When you’re Singapore & your existence depends on performance-extraordinary performance, better than your competitors-when that performance disappears because the system on which it’s been based becomes eroded, then you’ve lost everything..

I try to tell the younger generation that & they say the old man is playing the same record, we’ve heard it all before. I happen to know how we got here & I know how we can unscramble it.” –

3. ST 15 SEPT 2011 – 7TH LKY SCHOOL OF PUBLIC POLICY DIALOGUE
    ON His Vision for Singapore going forward:

“No, the vision has got to be your vision, not my vision. I’ve lived my life. I’m 88. I’m strolling into the sunset. Maybe I’ll stumble towards the end….”

4.  His views on the afterlife? “Well, what is next, I do not know. Nobody ever came back.”

